RTX PRO 6000 vs H100
A PCIe inference card against an NVLink training GPU; half the server price.
The difference
They are different tools. The RTX PRO 6000 Server Edition is a PCIe card with 96 GB of GDDR7 at 1.6 TB/s and no NVLink; the H100 SXM has 80 GB of HBM3 at 3.35 TB/s and 900 GB/s NVLink. A new 8-GPU RTX PRO 6000 server runs a ballpark $100,000 to $150,000; a used HGX H100 server was valued at $195,000. For inference that fits in 96 GB, the RTX PRO 6000 is the cheaper way in.
Side by side
| Per GPU | H100 | RTX PRO 6000 | RTX PRO 6000 / H100 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Architecture, released | Hopper, Late 2022 | Blackwell, March 2025 (announced) | |
| Memory | 80 GB HBM3 | 96 GB GDDR7 | 1.20x |
| Memory bandwidth | 3.35 TB/s | 1.6 TB/s (1,597 GB/s) | 0.48x |
| BF16, dense TFLOPS | 989 | Not published | |
| FP8, dense TFLOPS | 1,979 | 2 PFLOPS as listed (sparsity not stated) | |
| FP4, dense TFLOPS | Not supported | 4 PFLOPS as listed (sparsity not stated) | |
| FP64 (Tensor / matrix), TFLOPS | 67 | Not published | |
| Max power per GPU | 700 W | Up to 600 W, configurable | 0.86x |
| Power per 8 GPUs | About 10 kW | About 6-7 kW | 0.65x |
| GPU-to-GPU link | NVLink 4, 900 GB/s per GPU | PCIe Gen 5, no NVLink | |
| Scale-up domain | 8 GPUs (HGX board) | None (PCIe only) | |
| Form factor, cooling | SXM5 module, 8-GPU HGX board; air | PCIe Gen 5 card, dual-slot; air | |
| Price per GPU, October 2026 | $14,250 (Used, typical realized sale) | $12,500-$18,750 (New 8-GPU server, per GPU) | |
| Launch price reported in the press | $25,000 to $40,000 per chip, analyst estimates (2024) | - | |
| Residual band, 2027 (conservative) | 11-19% of original price | - |
Tensor Core figures are dense. Prices as of October 2026.
Sources: American Compute, NVIDIA Newsroom, NVIDIA, Managed GPUs (American Compute), CNBC.
More memory, half the bandwidth
The H100 serves large models faster. The RTX PRO 6000 has 16 GB more memory, but GDDR7 at 1,597 GB/s rather than HBM3 at 3.35 TB/s, and token generation on large models is bandwidth-bound.
Card prices have doubled
Card prices doubled in a year. The Workstation Edition launched at $8,565 and listed at $16,000 on NVIDIA’s U.S. store by August 2026; NVIDIA does not publish a Server Edition price.
Sources: NVIDIA, Managed GPUs (American Compute), American Compute, Tom's Hardware.
Residual value and appraisals
| Year | H100 | RTX PRO 6000 |
|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 27-39% | - |
| 2027 | 11-19% | - |
| 2028 | 5-7% | - |
| 2029 | 2-3% | - |
| 2030 | 1% | - |
What a used unit is expected to fetch, as a share of its original price: the conservative band from our residual value report.
H100 appraisal · H100 residual value · RTX PRO 6000 appraisal
Discuss a transaction
Send us the equipment list and the loan or lease you have in mind. We will come back with an indication and the questions we would need answered.
Prefer email? hello@amcompute.com